The discovery – The survey

Jean Clottes is an expert assigned by the French Ministry of Culture and Communication. This prehistorian will probably never forget the first time he went into the cave in southern Ardèche on the 29th of December, 1994.
“The Culture Ministry asked me to survey the cave that Jean-Marie Chauvet, Eliette Brunel, and Christian Hillaire had discovered a few days earlier. I didn’t know what I would find. I was told that there were several dozen rhinoceroses. At that time, in all of Europe, there were less than 20 known rhinoceroses. I was rather sceptical . . .
When I went down into the vault with the caving ladder, I was completely surprised by how white, sparkling, beautiful, and fresh it was. I thought to myself: This looks like a pristine cave! And I just went from marvel to marvel. The most emotional part was when I saw the horse panel. The aesthetic quality of the drawings captivated me and moved me to tears. I thought that it was a new Lascaux cave. I couldn’t imagine that these exceptional paintings were twice as old. This cave is really wonderful.”

Jean Clottes surveyed the cave a few days after its discovery. He directed the scientific research of the Ardèche cavity from 1998 to 2006.

La découverte : l’expertise

Jean Clottes : « subjugué par la qualité esthétique des dessins, j’ai eu les larmes aux yeux »

Expert auprès du Ministère de la Culture et de communication, le préhistorien Jean Clottes n’est pas près d’oublier la première fois qu’il est entré dans la cavité sud ardéchoise, le 29 décembre 1994.

« Le ministère de la Culture m’avait demandé d’expertiser la grotte découverte quelques jours plus tôt par Jean-Marie Chauvet, Eliette Brunel et Christian Hillaire. Je ne savais pas ce que j’allais trouver. On m’annonçait plusieurs dizaines de rhinocéros alors qu’on en connaissait moins de 20 dans toutes les grottes en Europe. J’étais plutôt sceptique…

Le préhistorien Jean Clottes qui a expertisé la grotte quelques jours après sa découverte a dirigé les recherches scientifiques de la cavité ardéchoise de 1998 à 2006 © Drac Rhône-Alpes – Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication.

Lorsque je suis descendu de la voute par l’échelle de spéléo, mon premier choc a été la blancheur, le scintillement, la beauté, la fraîcheur. Je me suis dit : elle sent la grotte vierge ! Et puis j’ai été d’émerveillement en émerveillement. J’ai eu ma plus grosse émotion au panneau des chevaux. Subjugué par la qualité esthétique des dessins, j’ai eu les larmes aux yeux. J’ai pensé que c’était un nouveau Lascaux sans imaginer que ces peintures extraordinaires étaient deux fois plus anciennes. Cette caverne est vraiment fabuleuse. »